top of page

MINGGU 06 AM

Updated: Jun 22, 2023

Sunday morning, brings the dawning It’s just a restless feeling by my side Early dawning, sunday morning It’s just the wasted years so close behind~


Verse 1 : Nine years ago marked the beginning of my encounter with the song ‘Sunday Morning,’ the opening track from The Velvet Underground & Nico album. Every time I listen to this song, it evokes the same emotions within me. Upon hearing it for the first time, it transported me back to my childhood, filled with dreams, lightness, normalcy, and social interactions. Now, listening to Beck and his friends’ version (rumored to be recorded without any rehearsing or arranging), it feels more grounded. It doesn’t prompt me to overthink; it’s just incredibly simple.


Watch out, the world’s behind you There’s always someone around you who will call It’s nothing at all~


Chorus : According to Cale (in a 2006 interview), she said the song came about like this: Lou (Lou Reed) and I stayed up all night as usual, so we decided to visit one of his college friends in Syracuse. Unfortunately, the wife of this upper-middle-class guy didn’t appreciate the visit from Lou’s college friend who was high on amphetamines at 3 in the morning and wanted to play music. Lou then borrowed his friend’s guitar and inspired him to write the song. It became the most polished song on the album “Sunday Morning.”


Sunday morning and I’m falling I’ve got a feeling I don’t want to know Early dawning, sunday morning It’s all the streets you crossed, not so long ago~


Verse 2 : On Sunday morning after staying up all night (whether it was working on college assignments, partying with friends, and so on) and around 6 am, playing the song “Sunday Morning.” From my experience at that time, the lyrics and the atmosphere conveyed in the music video matched perfectly.


Supported by the cold weather, I could see the morning mist enveloping through the window (since I lived in a cold city). Adding a cup of hot coffee or hot chocolate. Hohoho, what a morning.


...

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page