top of page

A QUOTES

Updated: Jun 22, 2023

I fondly recall the moments we spent together in that room. It was where our paths first crossed, where we became acquainted. Oh, how I yearn for those times. As Johnathan Jena said, ‘Beauty exists not in what is seen and remembered, but in what is felt and never forgotten.’


I watched as you and others diligently flipped through papers, seemingly engrossed in an assignment from the campus administration. An employee approached and handed you a file. ‘My dear, please jot down the names of the art faculty students whom you believe deserve to accompany you on the study tour to Jogjakarta,’ they said. Ernest Hemingway once advised, ‘Never go on trips with anyone you do not love.'


It was a sight to behold, witnessing you and the campus administration working seamlessly together. I couldn’t help but wonder why. You had always expressed your displeasure towards them, and I still remember when you vented your frustrations. Their actions seemed always at odds with our interests. Yet now, it all appeared futile. The scene before me left me astonished, as Orson Scott Card aptly noted, ‘So the whole war is because we can’t talk to each other


Being in your presence, I realize how fortunate I am as a man. I feel blessed to love and miss you. I approached you and sat by your side, peering at your papers. Yes, I was intrigued by the names you were selecting. It never crossed my mind that my name would be among them, considering I am now an alumnus of the campus. I kept a close watch on your list, for as Shannon Hale wrote in Enna Burning, ‘All I’ve ever wanted was to be near you.’


To my astonishment, I discovered that my name occupied the top spot on the list! ‘Is that really my name?’ I asked to confirm. You smiled and replied, ‘Yes, my dear, I ranked you number one.’ It was a blessing to know that you chose me to accompany you. As J.M Barrie wrote, ‘Pan, who and what art thou?’ cried the person who had not spoken until then. ‘I’m youth, I’m joy,’ Peter answered at a venture, ‘I’m a little bird that has broken out of the egg.’


We laughed and left the room, and I suggested, ‘Would you like to have some beer?’ You eagerly responded, ‘Yes, let’s get some beer!’ I gently held your hand as we strolled down the campus alley, the alley of memories. In the words of Marilyn Monroe, ‘If you can make a woman laugh, you can make her do anything.’


On our way, I suddenly realized that I had left my wallet and bag behind in the library. ‘Wait here,’ I said, holding you back. But you insisted, ‘No, I’m coming with you.’ And together, we burst into laughter.


...


Novian artworks
1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page